Skip to main content

Construction Health & Wellbeing understands that finding a framework to follow to develop your Health and Wellbeing strategy can be overwhelming. We’ve counted at least 12 potential frameworks to follow, but even then it’s a challenge to keep up to date with them all (and this is something that we look at every single day).

Construction has its unique set of challenges, and none of the frameworks we’ve found address health and wellbeing in a way that we know is needed. So we’ve done the work for you, taking the best bits from different frameworks to develop a construction-specific framework. You can download our checklist to help you self-assess your current strategy, and you can get in touch if you’re interested in a FREE 30 minute consultancy call, or if you want to know more about our gap analysis programme.

What frameworks you follow is down to your business’s risks and needs.  Here are some of the standards you need to be aware of:


British Occupational Hygiene Society (BOHS) Health in Industry Management Standards An essential for any construction organisation.  

Stress HSE management standards  and the new ISO45003 guidance – to help you ensure you are preventing work related mental ill-health. 

Mental Health

The Mental Health at Work Commitment is a simple framework that builds on what we know: based on the thriving at work standards, pulling from the pledges and standards that are already out there, using up-to-date research, from UK employers and mental health experts.  

The Mind workplace wellbeing index  

And the National Institute of Health and Care Excellence – Mental wellbeing at work

Organisational Arrangements

BITC workwell model  help businesses create environments where individuals and organisations can be at their best by taking a preventative, whole-person, whole-organisation approach to health and wellbeing.

The five start wellbeing audit from the British Safety Council is reflective of the recognised PLAN – DO – CHECK – ACT management cycle. 

CIPD 7 standards – 

8 standards for wellbeing charter 

For assessing Occupational Health services – SEQOHS stands for ‘Safe, Effective, Quality Occupational Health Service’ and is a professionally-led accreditation scheme


Leave a Reply

Sign up to our newsletter

To keep up to date with our latest resources and annoucments, enter your email below
Sign Up Now